Get to Know the Pros: Jason Sheldrick

Morpholio’s Top Design Sketch Masters of 2023

morpholio trace
2 min readMay 16, 2023

Jason Sheldrick is an expert at envelope detailing for architectural design and Senior Project & Production Manager at Blanco Architecture. Don’t think boring details though! Jason transforms these often-overlooked drawings into captivating journeys that diagram how each material joins together in perfect harmony. Learn more about Jason’s drawing technique and design thinking.

What is your personal belief on drawing and design?

For me, drawing is a way to think about how things are going to come together in the field; it helps me strengthen my understanding of the dynamics in a condition/detail and how it relates to the other conditions around it. Being a building envelope consultant I get to assist architects and general contractors integrate waterproofing systems and materials into difficult and highly customized designs. Drawing quickly and accurately helps me do that.

What is your favorite feature in Trace and why?

My favorite tool is the Super Ruler, I can quickly rough out a detail by eyeballing proportions, and still be relatively accurate. My favorite feature is the Kraft paper background; I like that I can produce my drawing with black lines, annotations with white lines, and then push and pull lights and darks with the Roller Brush.

What is one piece of advice you would give other designers?

Get out on the job site and into the field. Talk to the trades people who are actually building stuff. Learn as much as you can about other people’s roles so you can better understand their perspective and work with them in a constructive, positive way.

Check out all of Morpholio’s Top Design Sketch Masters of 2023 here. You can also get more behind the scenes content by following @morpholio on Instagram.

--

--